Don't worry, I'm a pro…

projects, opinions, and narcissistic rants

I hate electrical systems…and other stuff

Pictures to come later but I finally got my new handlebars back from RAM cycles. Took a long time for 3-hrs of work but they’re done, they’re hot, they’re unique, and most importantly I’ll be the only ones with anything like (or at least the first).

So I’m sitting there, pulling crap of the CB, which for anyone who’s done major work to a bike will tell you there’s a lot of extra crap that can easily be yanked off to reduce weight. Like the rear fender, the plastic lower fender (which I don’t need cause I’m not driving this puppy in the rain), the center stand, the passenger pegs/tubing (sorry Sarah). Not too worried because my +200lbs ass will keep the rear from hopping. But god damnit! Wouldn’t you know I start wiring up the controls and the throttle and shits not lining up? First the throttle cable that came with my new throttle is too short. Second all my new integrated buttons have a lead going in and a lead going out (to make a complete circuit), which makes sense. Buuuut Honda had to go make shit difficult because it turns out there is a master power lead going into each of the old controls and then a single lead coming out. So I now have all these extra wires I have to somehow bridge into an already a big, old, crusty, and difficult to discern wiring harness. Argh, I hate wiring. I’ve already gone over the wiring harness once and noticed whomever owned the bike originally did some shoddy splicing jobs to begin with but now I’ve got to add to the mess even further. Not happy about this because when I get everything mechanically sound and running smoothly I’m never going to get this thing back together after I tear everything down for painting.

My channukah present to myself is going to be a custom wiring harness. Heading over to Ironworks Cycles to talk with Paul about it early next week. Hopefully it costs me less than the custom Brembo front brake setup.

 

November 12, 2009 Posted by | 1 | Leave a comment